Announcement

LGCSE MARKERS TRAINING APPLICATION FORM Download. The JC Markers advert has been withdrawn with immediate effect. ECoL apologises for any inconvenience caused.

  +266 2231 2880   examscouncil@examscouncil.org.ls

 Mon-Fri : 08:00 - 16:30

Background

The Examinations Council of Lesotho (ECoL) is a non-profit organization which is responsible for conducting school-level assessments on behalf of the Ministry of Education and Training (MoET).

It conducts End-of-Level Assessments at specified points in the education system, for example, Grade4 and Grade7. ECoL further carries out public examinations at the end of Junior Secondary, Form C (Junior Certificate Examination) and at the end of Senior Secondary, Form E (O’ Level/LGCSE). The O’ Level curriculum and examinations are accredited by Cambridge International Assessment.

Moreover, ECoL also administers examinations on behalf of other international examination bodies such as the University of London and the Management College of Southern Africa (MANCOSA).

Furthermore, in collaboration with the National Curriculum Development Centre, ECoL conducts the National Assessment Survey at both Primary (Grades 4 and 6) and Secondary levels (Form B) . These surveys, which are conducted every two years, are aimed at monitoring the performance of the education system in the country as a whole.

Additionally, ECoL is also a custodian of the Continuous Assessment (CASS) strategy recently introduced in Lesotho primary schools alongside the Integrated Curriculum, which, among others, formed part of the phasing out of the Primary School Leaving Examination.

The Examinations Council of Lesotho has collaborations with international organizations. It has a long standing syndicate arrangement with the Examinations Council of Eswatini, is the member of the Southern African Association for Educational Assessment (SAAEA), the Association for Educational Assessment in Africa (AEAA) as well as the International Association for Educational Assessment (IAEA). In addition, we have established a mutual cooperation agreement with the Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC).

Mandate

Mandate

Develop, regulate and maintain an effective assessment system for basic and secondary education that responds to the educational needs of Lesotho.

Mission

Mission

To develop, implement, monitor and evaluate a qualitative, fair and reliable education assessment system for basic and secondary education and to issue qualifications that address educational needs of school leavers that enjoy international credibility.

Vision

Vision

A leading assessment institute committed to providing quality services, maintaining high professional educational standards, and upholding integrity in the execution of its primary responsibility of providing qualifications at basic and secondary education levels that are internationally recognized.

ECoL team member
Prof. Ts’epo Mokuku

Chairperson

Faculty of Education NUL

tmmokuku@yahoo.com

ECoL team member
Mr. Mokhitli Khoabane

CEO-Secretary

Examinations Council of Lesotho

khoabanem@examscouncil.org.ls

ECoL team member
Dr. Makhube Ralenkoane

CEO - Curriculum and Assessment

Ministry of Education and Training

mralenkoane@yahoo.com

ECoL team member
Ms. Limpho Mohapeloa

Representative

Lesotho Nursing Council

limphomm@gmail.com

ECoL team member
Mr. Ntoane Lepota

Deputy Rector Academic Affairs

Lerotholi Polytechnic

jlepota@yahoo.com

ECoL team member
Mrs. Sekhotseng Adam-Molapo

Director

National Curriculum Development Centre

sekhotsengadam@yahoo.com

ECoL team member
Mrs. Maletsika Matlejane

Representative

Lesotho Association of Teachers

maletsikamatlejane@gmail.com

ECoL team member
Mr. Teboho Mokhomo

Representative

Lesotho Principals Association

btmokhomo@gmail.com

ECoL team member
Mr. Paramente Phamotse

Deputy Rector

Lesotho College of Education

p.phamotse@lce.ac.ls

ECoL team member
vacant

Lesotho Agricultural College

ECoL team member
Mr. Mokhitli Khoabane

Chief Executive Officer

ECoL team member
Mrs. Methalali Khoarai

Director Product Development and Standards

ECoL team member
Mr. Ntaeboso Phenduka

Director Examinations Administration and Logistics

ECoL team member
Mr. Motebang Mabathoana

Manager - Legal and Compliance

mabathoanam@examscouncil.org.ls

ECoL team member
Mrs. Kananelo Mohasi

Manager - Human Resource and Administration

mohasik@examscouncil.org.ls

ECoL team member
Mr. Thabo Khoboko

Mananger - Finance

khobokot@examscouncil.org.ls

ECoL team member
Ms. Maneo Mohale

Manager - Research and Statistics

mohalem@examscouncil.org.ls

ECoL team member
Ms. Maureen Ntlatlapa

Manager - Product Development and Standards

ntlatlapam@examscouncil.org.ls

ECoL team member
Mrs. Bonnqe Taolane

Subject Manager - Basic Education

taolaneb@examscouncil.org.ls

ECoL team member
Mr. Motjeo Hlongwane

Manager - IT

hlongwanem@examscouncil.org.ls

ECoL team member
Mrs. Masantho Rakeketsi

Subject Manager - Higher Education

rakeketsil@examscouncil.org.ls

ECoL team member
Mrs. Malits'oanelo Thamae

Manager - Examinations Administration and Certification

thamaem@examscouncil.org.ls

ECoL team member
Ms. Matente Qhobela

Mananger - Examinations Processing

qhobelam@examscouncil.org.ls

Contact Us

Examinations Council of Lesotho
Crn. Constitution and Pioneer Roads
P.O. Box 507
Maseru 100
Lesotho
  (+266) 2231 2880
  (+266) 5230 0100
  examscouncil@examscouncil.org.ls